top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNeville Lance

LAST MINUTE COMMISSION

Right at the last minute I was asked if I could do the photography for the Eastern Cape Showing Championships on Friday the 13th November at the Bathurst Showgrounds............ that means horses! Of course I said yes - and what a day it turned out to be. 32 Degrees in the shade and a never-ending flow of classes that ran through from 8am in the morning until 5.30pm that afternoon.

Plenty of absolutely stunning horseflesh being lead and ridden by a wide range of really lovely ladies of all ages .............. not a single man in sight!

Well - I finally ended up with over 900 shots which I was eventually able to whittle down to 288 .............. quite a bit of editing there I assure you as there is very little control over the lighting and the angle that one can take pictures from. The next thing was to set up a system for ordering that was less cumbersome than having to make everyone wade through all of the pictures on the EC website where the organizer very kindly posted all of them, so there was some late night activity in Lightroom until I eventually managed to come up with a contact sheet template that at least worked to some degree for quick viewing and ordering purposes.

Lesson learned ............. take less pictures and allow yourself the opportunity to create larger contact sheet images. But, as I said it was all very last minute and I had no idea of the structure of the showing of the animals when I started out. Here's hoping everyone gets to enjoy the images of their horses in action.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page